Wedding Stationary – Mad Libs

Ok next up in the wedding stationary series of blogs is the one people were most excited about. We had a great photographer who took many post-ceremony pictures. This meant people waiting for us to arrive at the reception, possibly bored. I came across a “Mad-Libs” idea online and decided to customize it for our own story. I will include our stories below, but I edited out our names and last names of the guests for privacy. You are welcome to steal my words, but I really encourage you to write your own.

For this project you need a computer with a word-type program, printer, fancy paper and a paper cutter. I went with resume paper because it was fancy enough yet still cheap. One paper holds TWO mad libs. I typed each story up in word…here are the basic instructions and picture to help. If you don’t know how to do this stuff on word and/or have more questions, feel free to ask in comments.

1. Set up page landscape (sideways) and divide into two columns. Add your logo on top if you have one. Create a title for your story.
2. Type up your mad lib story in the font and size you want to use (keep in mind you will need to double the lines once you add the parts of speech) I just wrote a story WITH all the words first, and took them out in the next step.
3. Take out any words you want your guests to fill in by replacing them with a line. I just drew the line the size I wanted by hitting SHIFT + the symbol right of the zero key and held it down until it was the length I wanted for ALL lines. Then I copied and pasted the line each time I deleted a word.
4. Once your blanks are all in place, push ENTER at the end of each line.
5. On the in between lines, you will tab /space over to the blank spot and use the same font to type the parts of speech, but write in SUPERSCRIPT instead of normal (this keeps the words close to the line).
6. Repeat for each missing word.
7. Have someone to practice on to make sure your phrasing works and your parts-of-speech are specific enough.
8. Repeat the same steps in the second column for another Mad-Lib.
9. Print on fancy/colored paper and cut in half
Here is what it will look like on word:

One thought on “Wedding Stationary – Mad Libs

  1. Megan says:

    i can't tell you how much fun we had filling out all the different mad libs at your wedding!!! i don't remember the last time i laughed that hard thinking of ideas to put down. i'm sure you guys got a good laugh out of all of them 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment