Mexican Rice Recipe

Best Mexican Rice Recipe
I have no idea who Lynn is…I found her via Pinterest. All I know is that she has the BEST recipe for Mexican Rice I have ever found. My hubbie signed me up to make rice for a meeting we were having and he didn’t know my fear of making rice. I’ve always messed up on rice and avoided making it for him until that point. For some reason, it was the one thing I couldn’t ever get right. 
But then I found this recipe. It is easier than a boxed rice from the grocery store and it’s been a hit every time I have made it. I actually started using enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce the past few times because that is what I had on hand (usually make it with some yummy enchiladas – I’ll post the recipe for those later) Both methods create amazing rice. Every time I’ve made it for guest, I’ve been asked for the recipe. So, Lynn, whomever you are, I’m sharing your recipe with the world. Hope you don’t mind…it needs to be shared! 
Mexican Rice
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup uncooked long-grain rice
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 cup tomato sauce (or Enchilada sauce)
2 cups chicken broth

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and add rice. Cook, stirring constantly, until puffed and golden. While rice is cooking, sprinkle with salt and cumin. Stir in tomato (or enchilada) sauce and chicken broth; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes.
That is all there is to it. And this is my own photo, not hers. Hopefully you can see how tasty it looks. 
Tagging this as a PKU recipe as well because it’s not that high in protein, and I’m sure you can even make the same recipe with low-pro rice substitute. (I haven’t tried it, but in theory it would taste great!)

Leave a comment